Bacon-Wrapped BBQ Apple Chicken – Crock-pot Style

Here is your “FOODIE FRIDAY” post!

It’s fall time. It’s slow cooker time. It’s apple time. It’s crazy filled weekend time. It’s “ain’t nobody got time for that”… time. So, let’s dust off that crock-pot momma!

photo

Things you will need:

~Chicken Breast (Thawed)
~Bacon {Hate me if you will, but I used Turkey bacon.}
~Apples {Whatever kind you get is fine – I used Golden Delicious.}
~BBQ Sauce – Sweet Baby Rays all the way!….baby!
~Sugar
~Lemon Juice
~A Crock-pot {Or a pan and an oven}
~Smoke Seasoning

photo 1(3)

There is really no measurement method to this recipe. You’ll need about 4 Chicken breasts. About 8 pieces of bacon and I used about 4 medium sized apples, chopped. I didn’t peel them because I feel the skin adds to the yumminess.

Step One:

Wrap your chicken boobies with the bacon and snuggle them together in your crock pot.

photo 4(2)

Step Two:

In a separate bowl, squeeze out about 1-2 cups of BBQ sauce, about a 1/4 c of brown {or white} sugar, and about 1/4 c Lemon juice from a bottle, or you can get fancy and squeeze your own. Mix all that together and cover your chicken wraps with it as evenly as you can.
Then chop your apples.

photo 3(3)Best way is to just quarter them, scoop out the center core and just chop them up.

Step Three:

Then put them on top of everything. And let them cook for 6-8 hours on low OR put that thing on high for 4 hours if you’re like me and don’t think of dinner until 1pm.

photo 5(1)

This was a BIG hit with my little family! Even my 2 year old ate it! Serve it with a nice salad and some bread to spread the extra apples on and it makes a GREAT meal!

Let me know how it turned out in your kitchen! What famous slow cooker meal do you make this time of year?