Pumpkin Pecan Cheesecake

Just savor that title for a minute….. Ok, now let’s make it!

So, instead of starting out with this long segment of why I am making this delicious dessert and a novel behind the recipe, I find it best to just get down to business. Then, while your dessert is baking, you can read my elaborate story. Sound like a plan? Good. Let’s get baking.

You Will Need:

~ Graham Crackers {OR! Use crushed Oreos for a chocolatey flair}
~ Sugar…. and more sugar
~ Brown sugar
~ Butter
~ Cream Cheese {Duh…} Three 8 oz. packages.
~ 15 oz can of Pumpkin Puree {Another, Duh} – *I’m planning a post on how to puree your own pumpkin soon!
~ Eggs {Get 3 from the chicken coop}
~ Pumpkin spice
~ Flour
~ Vanilla
~ Pecans
~ Light Corn Syrup {If you forget to get corn syrup, like I did, substitute 1c water with 1/4 c sugar.}
~ Evaporated milk
~Whipped cream if you’d like
~ Spring Form pan {But don’t stress if you don’t have one, just use a cake or pie pan}

photo 1(3)

PRE-HEAT THE OVEN FIRST! {I always forget to do this}
425 F.

Crust:

1 pkg Graham crackers {OR, about 1 1/2 c. crushed Oreos}
1/4 c Sugar
1/2 c Butter (1 stick), melted

Place Graham crackers in a zippy bag and get your meat hammer out, then SMASH them to a pulp! Or, if you don’t quite enjoy the relief in smashing things to a pulp, you can simply use your food processor… that i don’t have. Melt your butter. Combine the crumbs, sugar and butter in a bowl. Spread it evenly in your pan. Bake at 425 F for about 10 minutes, or for as long as it takes you to mix the filling together.

photo 2(3)photo 3(3)
Filling:

3 (8 oz) pkgs Cream cheese at room temp.
1 (15 oz) Can Pumpkin puree {Or, 1 1/2 cups of your own pumpkin}
3 eggs
1 1/2 c Sugar
1 tsp. Pumpkin spice {I honestly just sprinkled as much as I wanted in there…}
2 Tbsp Flour
1 tsp Vanilla

Beat cream cheese until smooth. Add pumpkin, eggs, sugar and spice {and everything nice} and blend well. Add in the flour and vanilla. And BAM! You have your filling. Pour that goodness into you crusted pan. Bake for about 15 minutes at 425. Then reduce heat to 350 and bake for about 45 minutes. Check on it. You want the center to be just a smidge jiggly.
*Note: If your batter is a little clumpy, it’s OK! Also, if your cheesecake comes out with a few cracks, it’s OK! It’ll still taste like a cheesecake!

photo 4(2)

photo 1(4)
Topping:

7 Tbsp butter, divided
1 1/2 C Pecan halves {I used wholes… cause I don’t know how to read at the store}
1 1/2 C Brown Sugar {Confession: I just dumped what was left in the bag. It looked like 1 1/2 but it might have actually been 1 2/3. Note to self: Put brown sugar on the list}
3 Tbsp Flour
1 1/2 C Light corn syrup {Remember what I said above about substituting.}
1 C. evaporated milk

Put 3 Tbsp of butter in a medium sauce pan and brown your nuts for 5 minutes. Take your browned nuts and put them in a bowl. Add the remaining 4 Tbsp butter, Sugar, flour and syrup. Heat to a boil for about 5-7 minutes. {Until sugar is dissolved} Mix in the evaporated milk and browned pecans and boil for about 3-5 minutes until it’s thick. Set aside and let cool for about 1 hour. (While your cake is baking)
photo 5(1)

 

Put it all together and….

Once your cheesecake and topping has cooled down, pour the topping on top of the cheesecake {That was redundant} Place it in the fridge for 4 hours…. Heck with that! Put it in the freezer for MAYBE an hour to two  and enjoy that sucker sooner!

It’s Fall season here in Small Town, Ohio. I’m about 25 weeks pregnant and I am absolutely IN LOVE with pumpkin ANYTHING! Like, I put pumpkin spice in my coffee, and pancakes, and brownies, and cookies….
I saw this idea of a cheesecake on Pinterest. {You’ll read that a lot} I made it my own, like I do with EVERY recipe I make. Actually, do I really follow a recipe to a “T”? No. I usually alter it a lot depending on what I have in my kitchen. Ask me for a recipe? Good luck. Cause I have no idea what I just made.
Anyway, I decided to make this cheesecake for our young adult group. It’s on Thursday. And, maybe it was my pregnant brain, but I forgot that our good friends are leaving their doggies with us for a week. Making a cheesecake while watching 3 dogs (including ours) and my 2-year-old son was a bit hectic. Luckily, I put them all out back and let them roam free in the {fenced in} yard. Yes, my son was out there by himself with 3 dogs and a stick. I was more concerned for the dogs.
After a delicious meal with our group of freshly caught fried fish, my dessert did not last five minutes! And I’m not in the least bit exaggerating here. Really. I always assume a silent table with mumbles and “nom noms” as a sign that it was good. There were some discussions about fighting over the cake. So I think next time I will make two cakes.

photo 2(4)
photo 3(4)

Please excuse the last couple pictures. I had to hurry and take a snap shot of the finished product before it was devoured. If you can relate to a rushed mother with a toddler, I didn’t have time to make the picture fancy at home.

I hope you enjoy this special dessert!

If you have any suggestions to better it or any comments, PLEASE share! How did you make this your own?

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pecan Cheesecake

  1. Pingback: HOW TO: Puree Your Own Pumpkin | Not Your Average Homemaker

Leave a Reply

